Categories
Ekphrastic Writing National Poetry Month Poetry What the Country Wrought

Ode to the Nashville Library

The enchantment of libraries …

It was the spring of 2002, when on vacation
I landed in downtown Nashville, a bibliophile
unable to bypass the library’s main branch.

If the sculpture in the courtyard, a twenty-foot-tall
stone book tower, wasn’t breathtaking enough,
didn’t draw me to the massive bronze sculpted doors,


the Grand Reading Room walls glowed with the patina
of hammered copper repoussé panels of Nashville’s
history lining the perimeter above the bookshelves.

Uplifted and inspired, I longed to wander, to read,
to study here, to break out my journal and write.

Today’s photo prompt from Creative Roots Foundation took me back twenty-two years to a cross-country road trip and a stop in Nashville, where I fell in love with their downtown library.

Leave a comment